Officially calling Shanghai home.

It’s been a while since I posted anything – and I sincerely apologise. My days have suddenly been packed, going deeper and deeper into Shanghai, practicing my Chinese more than ever, fattening myself up with more 小笼包 (soupy dumplings – the freshman 15 is a real thing) and taking a little break from schoolwork over this National Holiday.

The National Holiday in China marks the anniversary of the PRC (People’s Republic of China), with this year being the 65th anniversary. In Australia, we have Australia Day, where people just kind of just drink, go to the beach, have a lot of fun, but none of that actually makes me super proud to be Australian. It’s more just a social fad now and an excuse to go to the beach. But here, it’s not like that at all. The whole of China relocates – those who are away from home, go back home and those who are at home relocate to the city for the holidays. The streets suddenly exert ten times more excitement and bubbly-ness than I have ever seen before. Red China flags are strewn across the city, the cityscape and held by little children. This is what I truly call national pride.

Even though at times (especially with the current situation of Hong Kong) we see China as this censored and strict nation, there is such an extreme sense of national pride that makes me feel so incredibly proud to say I am a quarter Chinese (for those of you who didn’t know). Everybody (including me) walks around the streets with such fascination at the buildings and at the vast urbanization of Shanghai.

My family has been visiting me here for the last week, and I’ve noticed how proud I’ve begun to feel at the fact that I live here. I live in the greatest city on this planet. I don’t know where else I can buy dumplings from the side of the street for under a dollar, or where I can get so much praise for speaking two words of another language, or where I can walk down the same streets and see something new each and every time.

So if you’re reading this and you don’t live in Shanghai – I kind of pity you, because we literally have it all.

Oh, and here’s some photos for you all to enjoy – I got a new camera so hopefully will be uploading pictures more regularly.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Bella 冯茵。

4 thoughts on “Officially calling Shanghai home.

Leave a Reply

